Public Holidays

It is important to note that Tourism being a year-round activity, these holidays do not affect the operations of travel agencies/tour operators, national parks and other tourism-service providers. The following are public holidays in Uganda on which offices, including banks and diplomatic missions, may not open:

  • New Years Day (1st Jan);
  • Good Friday (variable);
  • Easter Monday (variable);
  • NRM ruling Government Anniversary Day (26th January);
  • International Women’s Day (8th March);
  • Labor Day (1st May);
  • Uganda Martyr’s Day (3rd June);
  • National Heroes Day (9th June);
  • Independence Day (9th October);
  • Christmas Day (25th December);
  • Boxing Day (26th December);
  • Idd-el-Fitr (variable); Iddi Adhuha (variable).